The Hunger Games

 The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games
By Suzanne Collins
Author Website
Scholastic Press, 2008
384 Pages
4point5Excellent

What led you to pick up this book?

I saw so many people talking about it; on Twitter, on other blogs, even Stephen King reviewed it in Entertainment Weekly. I just had to know what all the fuss was about.

Describe the book without giving anything away.

At first glance, The Hunger Games sounded like a book I would not enjoy. I am not one to enjoy dystopian type literature and I definitely do not enjoy reality type shows. But I was definitely surprised. In a nutshell,

What did you like most about the book?

The characters were of the type that you just couldn’t help rooting for. The writing was very good, in my opinion.  The prose was taunt, quick, finely edited to keep the narrative moving, which with a story like this, felt appropriate.  It was a fast read.

What did you think of the characters?

I loved them! Katniss is one in a million. Tough, tenacious, intelligent, resourceful; everything I look for in a female character, especially in young adult literature. Plus, I felt the author stayed true to her characters, whether it was something I liked or not. (i. e. of the romantic, dramatic, torn between two men sort).

Describe your favorite scene:

One in particular sticks out in my mind, but I don’t want to give anything away. It’s too spoiler-ish.  But there is lots of lovely tension, of the romantic sort.

Was there anything you didn’t like about the book?

No. I was particularly worried about violence, since it’s basically a book about children killing each other to survive, but it was not as bad as I thought it would be.

Recommended?

Definitely.  If you like fantasy, dystopian literature, YA literature… you will like this book.  Even if you don’t, you’ll probably like this book!  :)

Anything else worth mentioning?

I really appreciated the author’s vision of what could happen to humanity if certain things were not to change. There is a definite warning note to this story that is one I think we should all take heed of.  It seems extreme, but then again, it doesn’t.

Cover thoughts:

I just really like it.

I feel like this review does not do this book justice. Here are a few other reviews that may give a better picture of what it’s about AND why you should read it; including Stephen King’s review, which was the catalyst for my reading of it.

Stephen King’s review for Entertainment Weekly | My Friend AmyY.A. New York | Semicolon | The Reading ZoneThe Chick Manifesto | The Book Vault  |

8 thoughts on “The Hunger Games

  1. Pingback: The Hunger Games « Ardent Reader

Leave a Reply

